My Psalm 1

Oh Lord,

How my words weep of the disgust of my wrongs.

How my thoughts echo the pains of past sins.

Yet you take them all,

You remove me of my burdens,

You destroy my man-made fears.

You nailed them upon the simplicity of a wooden cross.

How my words rejoice of the beauty of forgiveness!

How my thoughts sing of the profound message of salvation!

You have shown me the error of my ways, yet offered an endless reserve of guidance & forgiveness.

            You have worked in me,

You have forgiven me.

And what have I done to receive such a Pearl? Such Gold? Such Jewels? Such Platinum? Such Credit?

            Nothing.

            Absolutely nothing.

The work is not of my own. My love is flawed. My intellect broken. My words of little value. My thoughts; vague.

Yet you…

            Your intellect defies understanding!

Your wisdom more precious than gravity!

Your love encompasses all meaning!

Oh how I beg to discover your ways! Oh how I beg to reflect your wisdom! Oh how I beg to praise you in actions, words, and deeds!

How my words rejoice of the beauty of forgiveness!

How my thoughts sing the profound message of salvation!

Amen.

Leave a Reply

